IT’S IN THE BAG

 

WELL, that was weird.

I wandered into T.K. Max at the Almondvale Centre recently to buy a pair of salopettes – GREAT prices, I have to say. Unfortunately, I have no idea what size I am so I asked for some assistance.

The very nice young lady (VNYL) picked out a pair she though would fit. So off I toddled to the changing rooms.

As I made my way across the shop I was aware of a fair amount of giggling and pointing going on amongst the staff, but I couldn’t think what it had to do with me; I checked my flies just in case.

It wouldn’t be the first time.

On approaching the till with my purchase I could hear people being told that if they wanted a carrier bag it would cost them. However, the VNYL stepped up to the person who was serving me and said: “Don’t charge him for the bag – he’s off the telly.”

So there, you go. Somebody who watches daytime TV – and I get a free plastic carrier bag.

Now, I know that celebrities get free stuff all the time. Designer clothing, gifts of jewellery and watches, the best tables in the best restaurants and even the occasional complimentary car.

Me? I got a plastic carrier bag. It lets you know your place in the pecking order.

In all seriousness, it was very nice of her; and the girlies were all excited. And that’s a bit of great fun.

But you know what? I love my job; I really do. One recent performance was at Gleneagles Hotel where I did a twenty minute spot and was interviewed by Kaye Adams. Then I was back on stage with that brilliant impersonator Rory Bremner. From there, it was a quick drive to the STV studios for a spot on “The Hour.” Oh, and an episode of The Interrogator had gone out on The Trisha Show that morning. I was in three places at once.

What’s more, I get paid for all this! And fed. And accommodation.

I can’t remember the last time I had the Monday Morning Blues.

It’s true: find a job you love and you’ll never work again.

Believe me, I DO realise how lucky I am. So I say this: for those of you who dream of grasping your life and taking it in the direction you want, then go for it. What’s the worst that can happen?

You might find you get the occasional free carrier bag, too.

Drew McAdam

Leave a Reply

