COULD YOU SAVE A LIFE?

I never discuss family or friends in my column. But in this case I’m going to make an exception.

My little grandson is 20-months old. Since his birth his liver has never worked properly – as in it was absolutely useless, and was slowly poisoning him.

He would have died. But he didn’t, because a suitable donor was found. From that moment there was an ambulance dash, an air ambulance flight and a 10-hour operation. Now, the little lad’s new liver is working better than was expected.

That’s good news for him. But I realise that it’s bad news for somebody else. Because the fact that a donor was found means that some unknown family, right now, is going through absolute heartache. I can only hope that they somehow find out that a tiny, frail life has been saved.

Which brings me to the point: I USED to carry a donor card. But I lost it, or used it to light a fag or something – I don’t know. Anyway, I have now placed my name on the Organ Donor Register. I simply logged on at http://www.organdonation.nhs.uk and typed in a few details. The whole thing took, literally, two minutes – if that. And it’s done.

If you don’t want to do it that way, then you can call 0300 123 23 23 at local rates. They’ll sort you out. You can even simply text SAVE to 84118.

Under current law, if you want to donate your organs after death you must make your wishes known. May I suggest you do just that? Somebody somewhere did that and they saved my grandson’s life.

Whose life will YOU save?

Drew McAdam

One Response to COULD YOU SAVE A LIFE?

  1. Dave Cairns says:

    Way to go Drew. Glad yuor grandson is jumping again.

Leave a Reply

