THE PRICE OF PROGRESS

Hi-tech Blu-ray players are remarkably inexpensive. But have you ever wondered how the manufacturers can make a profit when they sell these technology-packed units for less than 50 quid?

Well, I know.

Once upon a time there we had incredibly expensive Betamax video recorders. Then came the VHS – about the size of a VW camper van. Just as everybody was building up their video collection, along came the equally mega-expensive DVD player, which is now moving aside to allow Blu-ray into the picture.

So I got a Blu-ray player. I suppose my DVD collection will now be going the way of my radiogram, slide rule, platform shoes and LP records. The thing is, a Blu-ray player is seriously cheap – about the price of a half decent meal – when you consider the amount of technology and clever-clever hardware inside such a small box. So I was mightily pleased with my new player.

Until I opened the packaging.

Inside, I found a little black box with some buttons along one side, and a mains lead. The only other thing in there was the instruction booklet which informed me that all I had to do was plug the unit into the mains and attach the HD cable (not supplied).

Not supplied? Sorry?

Muttering to myself, and anybody else who would listen, I set off to Livingston Centre for this magical HD cable. The price for a cable? Almost £50. The lead was more expensive than the player! I asked the salesman if it was made of gold. Turns out, it was – 24 karat gold plating, to be exact.

However, I bought one – without the gold. A snip at £20 for a short length of wire. That should have been it. But, no. The TV set has only one HD input, and I have Sky television, which means I would require a total of three outrageously expensive cables PLUS a “splitter”, which would cost a further £50.

In other words, the cost of linking the unit to the TV is twice that of the player!

It’s like going for a meal; excellent value at only £2 for a three-course dinner. Will you require a plate? Ah, that’ll cost you an arm and a leg, sir. How about cutlery? Would you like to hire a knife and fork? We accept all credit and debit cards. A chair? Certainly, sir. Will you be paying cash?

So, if you’ve ever wondered how manufacturers can turn a profit when selling hi-tech, cutting-edge gizmos at ridiculously low prices, now you know.

Drew McAdam

2 Responses to THE PRICE OF PROGRESS

  1. Wayne says:

    Drew,
    Unfortunately you have been the victim of not shopping around, rather than any conspiracy by the Blu Ray manufacturers – although I do agree they should at least supply a cable.
    Any large supermarket, which does electricals as well as food normally stock these now for about £8! Oh and glad you didn’t go down the gold plated route – I believe it’s a con on behalf of the cable manufacturers – couple of gadget programme showed that it makes no difference!
    Lastly, of course, there is Amazon. Even with the cost of postage you could have saved a lot of money!
    I am surprised a canny Scot like yourself didn’t shop around 😉
    I also realise that this is “bolting the stable doors after the horse has bolted” but someone else may realise this and not spend so much.

    • drewsmuse says:

      Thanks for that, Wayne. You are, of course, absolutely right. Truth is, I had the player already plugged into the wall socket, had everything ready to go, so just shot out the house and went to the nearest computer / electrical outlet. I will certainly pass on your information to anybody else I know who might be going to purchase a Blu-ray player.

      I’ve alwaysa been one for supporting my local retailers, but you know what… if they don’t support us, then perhaps we SHOULD shop online more.

      Best wishes,

      Drew

Leave a Reply

