IS THERE ANYBODY THERE?

 

Planet Earth has been around for over 4 billion years, but it’s all supposed to come to a messy end on the 21st of this month.

It’s true, I tell you. I know, because I read it on the Internet.

An internet group has carried out research and discovered that an invisible planetary object called Nibiru is heading straight for us. Okay, the collision was originally predicted for May 2003, but as you may have noticed, that didn’t happen.

Not to be discouraged, they made some new tin foil hats, and recalculated the original; figures. They worked out – by some astonishing coincidence – that the new date for the end of the world falls on the same date that the Mayan calendar runs out. The 21st of December.

These Mayan Indians were amazing. Some 1300 years ago they carved a calendar into a stone at La Corona, in Guatemala. That calendar comes to an end on the 21st of this month; therefore the world is going to come to an end.

Mind you, it seems odd that this ancient civilization foresaw the end of the world, but didn’t see the Spanish coming.

Be that as it may, with the planet Niburu heading this way, the end of the Mayan Calendar, and a really weird planetary alignment of the Universe, (of which NASA and astronomers know nothing) it’s unlikely that this column will ever see the light of day.

I have to admit, I’m rather counting on the Mayans and the Internet doomsday groups being right. You see, I haven’t sent any Christmas cards or bought any Festive gifts. Neither have I completed my tax return or paid my credit card bills. I’m counting on the Mayans being right.

So, if you are reading this, then Armageddon didn’t happen. And if we’re all still here – including the Inland Revenue – then I’m in a whole heap of trouble. It may not be the end of the world, but it’s certainly the end for me.

Despite all that, I wish you all a wonderful Christmas and a fantastic New Year.

Drew McAdam

Leave a Reply

